Animal Rescuers – Thanks, Aletha!

I am an Animal Rescuer
My job is to assist God’s creatures.
I was born with the drive to fulfill their needs.
I take in helpless, unwanted, homeless creatures
without planning or selection.
I have bought dog food with my last dime.
I have patted a mangy head with a bare hand.
I have hugged someone vicious and afraid.
I have fallen in love a thousand times.
And I have cried into the fur of a lifeless body
too many times to count.
I have Animal Friends,
and friends who have animal friends.

I don’t often use the word “pet”
I notice those lost on the roadside
and my heart aches.
I want to live forever if there
aren’t animals in Heaven, but I believe there are.
Why would God make something so perfect
and leave it behind?

We are a quiet but determined army
and we are making a difference every day.
By the love of those whom
I’ve been privileged to rescue,
I have been rescued.

I know what true unconditional love really is,
for I’ve seen it shining in the eyes of so many,
grateful for so little.

I am an Animal Rescuer.
My work is never done.
My home is never quiet.
My wallet is always empty,
but my heart is always full.

This entry was posted in Civic action and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

